Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

Media Center > News Releases

May 4, 2004


SPRINGFIELD - Injung Oh, a student at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, was named winner of the Governor's Medallion of Excellence for her painting, "Recognition," at the Awards Ceremony for the 2004 Annual Collegiate Artists Competition at the University Galleries at Illinois State University on Tuesday, May 4.

Brenda Holmes, Governor Rod Blagojevich's deputy chief of staff for education, presented the Governor's award to Ms. Oh, who was the winner of one of four $1,000 purchase awards in the first-ever statewide art competition for undergraduate students at Illinois colleges and universities.

The juried competition was sponsored by Governor Rod R. Blagojevich, the Illinois Board of Higher Education, and the Illinois higher education community.

Other winners of purchase awards included:

  • Dalila Perez of Morton College, winner of the Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges and Universities Award for her prisma color painting, "Flora."
  • Debra Virgens of McHenry County College, winner of the Illinois Community College Board Award for her paper, rubber cord, and linen thread sculpture, "BAS 1&2."
  • Ryan Rocha of Richland Community College, winner of the Illinois Board of Higher Education Prize for his kinetic/electronic media production, "Crouching Can Hidden Can Opener," which can be viewed on the IBHE website.

More than 260 undergraduate artists from large and small, two-year and four-year, public and private colleges and universities entered works in eight artistic categories. Entrants were entitled to submit up to three entries. In addition to the purchase award recipients, winners also were named in various artistic categories and several finalists also were honored at the Awards Ceremony at Illinois State. Michael Dunbar, coordinator of the Art-in-Architecture program at the Capital Development Board and a renowned sculptor, served as juror for the 2004 Annual Collegiate Artists Competition. The works of all winners and finalists will be exhibited at ISU's University Galleries from May 4 through July 3. The works also can be viewed online at

Winners in various artistic categories included:

  • Jasmine Blucas, Joliet Junior College, "Asian Still Life," Ink, Drawing
  • Christopher Bray, Morton College, "To What End," Photographic emulsion on ceramic tile, Photography
  • Roger Darrigrand, College of DuPage, "Bubble Gum," Photography
  • Scott Gamble, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, "Cane Vase," Glass
  • Devin Gearing, Shawnee Community College, "As Evening Approaches," Oil, Painting
  • Susanne Harmon, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, "Box Set II," soda fired stoneware, Ceramic
  • Melody Hauf, Principia College, "Studio 1," Ink, Drawing
  • David Hyun, Parkland Community College, "Love," Limestone, Sculpture
  • Michael Jansma, Illinois State University, "Implosion," Lithographic print, Printmaking
  • Elizabeth Marks, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, "Nesting," Fiber
  • Alyce McQueen, Columbia College, "Don and Martha Farley," Photography
  • Ryan Shultz, American Academy of Art, "Dawn's Hands," Oil, Painting
  • Annie Siffermann, Illinois State University, "Sprawl of an Ample Union," Acrylic ink, graphite, Drawing
  • Andrea Skeries, Westwood College of Technology, "Toys," Electronic media
  • Kelly Stachura, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, "Visual Art: Rods and Cones" Fabric sculpture, Sculpture
  • Cheng-Yung Kuo, South Suburban College, "Mix," Ceramics

Finalists for the competition include:

  • Sharon Anderson, McHenry County College, "Changing Personality," Mixed media
  • Sandra Burns, Southwestern Illinois College, "Heaven," Pastel, Painging
  • Freddy Bustamante, Robert Morris College, "Killing Time," Color pencil, Drawing
  • Anthony Cotta, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Untitled Scapular, Jewelry
  • Ian Duncan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, "Red Jig," Glass
  • Michelle Fernandez, William Harper College, "Live Portrait," Graphite, Drawing
  • John Flickinger, Lincoln Land Community College, "Self Portrait #1," Acrylic on canvas, Painting
  • Steven Foutch Jr., Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, "Man and Boy," Screen print & woodcut, Printmaking
  • Brian Goedde, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, "Brain Scratch and Jupiter Jazz," Mixed media drawing on paper, installation
  • Brandon Heuser, Northern Illinois University, "Night Light," Acrylic painting, Painting
  • Bethany Huffman, Shawnee Community College, "First Kiss," Colored pencil, Drawing
  • Neal Meeker, Western Illinois University, Untitled, Acrylic paint, Painting
  • Whitney O'Connor, Quincy University, "Collograph2," Prints, Printmaking
  • Nathan Redwood, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, "The Traveler," Acrylic on canvas, Painting
  • Jane Ryder, Bradley University, "It's Inevitable," Pastel, Painting
  • Alejandra Salaverria, Black Hawk College, "Stubborn," Oil on paper, Painting
  • Matt Wedel, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Drawing, Ceramic
  • Alice Wells, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Untitled, RA-4 Photographic Print

Planning now is underway for the 2005 Annual Collegiate Artists Competition, which will culminate with an Awards Ceremony and exhibition at the William & Florence Schmidt Art Center at Southwestern Illinois College in Belleville.


Don Sevener



Printer Friendly Version
Copyright 2012