Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

Media Center > News Releases

May 15, 2003


SPRINGFIELD - Governor Rod R. Blagojevich has named Thomas R. Lamont to a six-year term on the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE). The Governor also appointed Frances G. Carroll as a member of the University of Illinois Board of Trustees and as the public universities representative to the IBHE.

Lamont has served on the Board as the representative of public universities. He has been a member and former Chairman of the U. of I. trustees. He is a partner in the Brown, Hay and Stephens law firm in Springfield. He has previously served as director of civil litigation for the Illinois Attorney General and as executive director of the State's Attorneys Appellate commission. Lamont also serves as a colonel in the Illinois Army National Guard, Office of the Judge Advocate General.

Lamont holds a bachelor's degree from Illinois State University and graduated from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1972.

He resides in Springfield.

Frances Carroll presently serves as instructional supervisor for the School Achievement Structure program at DePaul University. She is a retired principal with the Chicago Public Schools and a retired adjunct professor in the graduate program at Roosevelt University. She has had a variety of teaching experiences, including at Chicago elementary and high schools, City Colleges of Chicago, Chicago State University, Governors State University, and professional advancement courses in stress management, conflict resolution, and multicultural teaching-administrative leadership for the Chicago Public Schools. She also has held a number of administrative positions with the Chicago Public Schools.

Carroll earned her bachelor's degree in primary education from Roosevelt University, a master's in special education at Chicago Teachers College, and her doctorate in education from the University of Sarasota.

She lives in Chicago.


Don Sevener



Printer Friendly Version
Copyright 2012